Chakras and Emotions

There are in total 7 chakras in our body acting as energy collectors for us in our everyday lives. These are the Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, Heart Chakra, Throat Chakra, Third Eye Chakra, and Crown Chakra. In order for our body to function properly, all our chakras need to be balanced and functioning properly.

In life, due to the different circumstances that we have met and the experiences of life, they leave emotional baggages and scars in us. Some examples are divorces, work stress, and the death of a love one. And often we forgot to cure or ease ourselves of such turmoils and choose to keep the unhappiness and sadness within ourselves. This will cause us to be emotionally imbalanced, which in turn causes our chakras to be blocked and function out of balnce. In the long term, an unbalanced chakra will lead to illness and diseases which may evolved to be cancer, which is life threatening.

It is therefore important for us to be mindful of our bodily functions and our own emotional state and how these in turn affects the functions of our chakras so that we can keep our chakras in balanced and our body free from illnesses.

Below are a list of the seven chakras and how they can be affected by the different emotions that we may have. With the possibilities of emotional issues linked with each chakras, one can then find out which of their chakras are in an imblanced state and thus seeking a cure or way to balance the chakra again.


Root Chakra (Chakra 1 / Red) – Represents feeling ‘rooted’ or grounded, represent our foundation and stability

Location: base of the spine / tailbone area

Emotional issues linked with this chakra: survival issues and all issues related to this , such as money, food, family, security and financial independence.

Sacral Chakra (Chakra Two / Orange) – Represents creativity, sex and your ability to accept new relationships/situations into your life

Location: lower abdomen about 2 inches below the navel

Emotional issues linked with this chakra: sense of pleasure, enjoyment, abundance, sexuality

Solar Plexus (Chakra Three / Yellow) – Represents confidence, thoughts and feelings, and our ability to be in control of our lives

Location: upper abdomen/stomach area

Emotional issues linked with this chakra: self-confidence, self-esteem, positive mental attitudes and thoughts, self-worth

Heart Chakra (Chakra 4 – Green) – Represents our ability to love and be loved, to enjoy what we love

Location: centre of chest, just above the heart

Emotional issues linked with this chakra: joy, love, compassion, inner peace

Throat Chakra (Chakra 5 – Blue) – Represents our ability to communicate clearly and to speak our truth

Location: the throat

Emotional issues linked with this chakra: communication, self-expression, expressing your truth, creativity

Third Eye Chakra (Chakra 6 – Indigo) – Represents our ability to see the big picture, inner knowing, insight and vision

Location: on your forehead, between your eyes

Emotional issues linked with this chakra: ability to think clearly and make decisions, intuition, wisdom, imagination

Crown Chakra (Chakra 7 – Violet) – Represents our ability to connect fully with our spiritual selves

Location: at the very top of your head (at the crown)

Emotional issues linked with this chakra: pure bliss, inner and outer beauty, our connection to our own spirituality, divine wisdom