Yoga Articles

Practicing Satya

When I was a kid, I was always told by my parents and teachers to not tell lies and to be truthful, otherwise there would be some consequences (whether it is standing in the naughty corner, scolding, or perhaps additional chores). We were taught that truthfulness is to not lie.

Practice Ahimsa in my daily life

What is Ahimsa? Ahimsa is a word in the foundations of yoga – a Yoga Sutra that has been handed down from ancient times. It is one of the five Yamas (5 ethical and social guidelines) that are named in “The Eight Limbs Of Yoga” and means “Non-violence”. “Violence” is

How Yogic Philosophy Makes You a Better Parent

My elder son who is almost 6 years old happens to be quite different from me 😊 He’s a great guy and I’ve always known it but for a long time I had what’s called tapa duhka: he was just not the way I expected him to be. For example,

Be Kind❤

Patanjali set out his definition of yoga in the Yoga Sutras as having eight limbs such as: Yama Niyama Asana Pranayama Pratyahara Dharana Dhyana Samadhi Ahimsa, as a part of first limbs of yoga- Yama. Ahimsa means nonviolence.  Nonviolence is the personal practice of being harmless to one’s self and others under

Detachment or indifference?

I’ve always considered myself as a caring person, mindful of others, to the extent of sometimes putting other people’s needs in front of my own. So when I started studying the 8 limbs of yoga, particularly the yamas and niyamas, which describe a sort of “guideline” towards self-realization, I was

Concrete ways to embody Asteya in your daily life

The five yamas are ethical principles by which to treat others in your life, outlined as a limb of ashtanga (eight-limbed) yoga. Applying the five yamas does not have to require drastic changes in your life. You can start small, with daily actions that are often overlooked. Read more to

The Power of the Chakras

Yoga Philosophy Kundalini is the kinaesthetic energy that is created when prana circles around the body. It moves through the 7 chakras. The sahasrara chakra is the crown chakra and it is located at the crown of the head. It corresponds biologically with the pineal gland, which is located in

May You Be Free, Aparigraha

Aparigraha, listed as 5th in Yama, Yoga Sutra, means non-possession of anything that gives suffering for someone and abstention from greed. In psychological terms, it means a state of non-attachment, non-craving and self-satisfaction. It is seemingly hard to practice this in this modern world, where we are dominated by materialism.

Beyond Truthfulness: practicing Satya on and off the mat

  `Yamas` (moral discipline) are observances recommended by yogic philosophy and teaching as part of the eight-limbed path of yoga, developed by Patanjali. Unlike a commandment that has to be strictly followed, the five yamas are established for enthusiasts to develop a mindful and healthy lifestyle. The second yama is

Power of ‘OM’

I have always wondered why Yoga sessions always begin and end with OM chanting, and what does it actually mean? And here’s what I’ve learnt. OM, also can be spelt and pronounced as AUM, is the highest sacred symbol in Hinduism. It is a basic, yet sacred sound of the