Yoga Articles

Here’s How Yoga Brings Me Moments Of Peace

Disclaimer: I’m still not 100% at peace, but I’m figuring it out one day at a time. And that’s okay. Image from Unsplash Over the last two weeks, I’ve learned that yoga is so much more than just asana (physical postures). Instead of only realigning the body, it is just

Self Acceptance

“Stop comparing yourself with others”; “You are good enough”; “You are who you are”   I truly understand what they mean, but I had been struggling to put them into action. With the over-flooded information all over the social media/internet in the modern era, it is difficult for us not


Ishwara pranidha is the last of the Niyama in the 8 limbs of yoga. WHAT IS ISVARA PRANIDHANA AND WHY IS IT IMPORTANT? Written in chapter  2.45 of the yoga sutra: samadhi siddhih ishvarapranidhana -samadhi = deepest meditative state -siddhi = attainment -ishvara = God, Supreme Being, Divine, a Deity,

Aparigraha – The Art of Letting Go

The first limb of Patanjali’s Eight Limbs of Yoga talks about Yamas, which consist of the following: Ahimsa (non-violence), Satya (truthfulness), Asteya (non-stealing), Brahmacharya (self-management/self-restraint), and Aparigraha (non-possessiveness). These five Yamas can be basically described as moral guidelines to adopt when interacting with the people and the world around us.

Inhale, Exhale and Apply Yamas to the Workplace

There are 8 Limbs of Yoga, each describing a different aspect of our yoga practice. These 8 Limbs can be applied beyond the mat and into life. The first limb refers to “Yamas”, which is known as moral discipline i.e. to be ‘moral’ in our current situation and in our

My Yoga Journey – YTT

During this 200 hours YTT training, I learnt a lot of knowledge of yoga, such as asanas, sanskrit word, pranayama, meditation, yamas, niyamas, mudra, muscles, bones, lesson plans and so on. Before joining this training, my impression of yoga is only the postures (asanas). I started my yoga by reading

My Yoga journey – Chapter Yama

When we first started learning about the 5 Yamas, I was very lost – it was an abstract concept that I couldn’t really internalize during class. So I took some time for myself outside of class to try and understand these 5 Yamas. While reading up on it online, I


We spend a great deal of learning in school. It’s drilled in us that when we study, it’ll bring good grades. Whether it is academics, a job, sports or an instrument, to learn to do something well, we must first examine and learn the various tasks by reading information, observing our

The Relevance of Drishti Points in Yoga

The 3rd limb of Ashtanga Yoga talks about asana, which is commonly associated with yoga and used to describe the poses performed during a yoga practice. Under the 8 limbs of Ashtanga Yoga, asana covers the physical aspect of the Ashtanga Yoga practice, which aims to guide yogis towards reaching


Spin Those Chakras I came into this 200hr yoga course for two reasons, one was to improve my flexibility and range of motion and the other was to add a new layer to my coaching for the current classes that I teach at the gym I work in. I certainly