7 Easy Yoga poses to align your 7 Main Chakras

Imagine living your life to the fullest every day, full of energy, with a balance state of mind. You feel inner peace, emotionally stable and your thoughts unite with your feelings. What if I tell you that all these can be achieved simply by unblocking your chakras.  Sounds too good to be true?  Well, here are 7 easy yoga poses that can help you align and unblock your chakras.

What is Chakra?

Chakra (cakra in Sanskrit) means “wheel” and refers to energy points in your body. To function at their best, your chakras need to stay open, or balanced. If they get blocked, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms related to a particular chakra.

There are seven main chakras that run along your spine. They start at the root, or base, of your spine and extend to the crown of your head. 

  1. Root chakra – Mountain pose

The root chakra, or Muladhara, is located at the base of your spine. It provides you with a base or foundation for life, and it helps you feel grounded and able to withstand challenges. Your root chakra is responsible for your sense of security and stability.

Tadasana (Mountain Pose) – This is a great posture for us to connect to earth energy through all four corners of our feet and invite that energy upward to feel nourished in our entire body.

  • Sacral chakra – Seated Forward Bend

The sacral chakra, or Svadhisthana, is located just below your belly button. This chakra is responsible for your sexual and creative energy. It’s also linked to how you relate to your emotions as well as the emotions of others.

Paschimottanasana (Seated Forward Bend)– This is the best asana for releasing emotional blockages held in the second chakra. This posture tests your emotional capacity and can release stagnated energy in the area of the sexual organs.

  • Solar plexus chakra – Knees to chest

The solar plexus chakra, or Manipura, is located in your stomach area. It’s responsible for confidence and self-esteem, as well as helping you feel in control of your life.

Apanasana (Knees to chest) – By hugging the knees in toward the heart, you compress the stomach and stimulate digestion.

  • Heart chakra – Cat / Cow Pose

The heart chakra, or Anahata, is located near your heart, in the center of your chest. It comes as no surprise that the heart chakra is all about our ability to love and show compassion.

Marjaryasana / Bitilasana (Cat / Cow Pose) – This familiar pose improves flexibility in the spine, stretches the chest, and strengthens the back.

  • Throat chakra – Baby Cobra Pose

The throat chakra, or Vishuddha, is located in your throat. This chakra has to do with our ability to communicate verbally.

Bhujangasana (Baby Cobra Pose) – This gentle backbend stretches the back of the neck and compresses the front of the throat, directing energy here.

  • Third eye chakra – Child’s Pose

The third eye chakra, or Ajna, is located between your eyes. You can thank this chakra for a strong gut instinct. That’s because the third eye is responsible for intuition. It’s also linked to imagination.

Balasana (Child’s Pose) – This gentle position compresses the forehead and stimulates the third eye chakra, sending life force energy here. It also has meditative qualities, helping you turn your attention inwards.

  • Crown chakra – Corpse Pose

The crown chakra, or Sahasrara, is located at the top of your head. Your Sahasrara represents your spiritual connection to yourself, others, and the universe. It also plays a role in your life’s purpose.

When the Crown Chakra is misaligned or overactive, you may experience a spiritual distrust, a sense of negativity about life, and a disconnectedness from your body and earthly matters. An aligned Crown Chakra brings peace, joy, serenity, and positivity to your life.

Savasana (Corpse Pose) – This pose is performed at the end of the class when the mind is calm and clear enough to enter a meditative state. This is my all time favourite pose at the end of every Yoga class, I call it the ‘sleeping’ pose!

Try this 7 easy Yoga poses daily for 30 days and connect to the better version of you!