How Do We Apply Yamas in Our Modern Life?

Yama is the first limb of yoga according to Raja the eight limbs of yoga, that focuses on our behaviour and perspective of life. I personally find the 5 yamas concept very useful even in a modern material world.
The Five Yamas
Ahimsa: Non-violence
Satya: No-lying
Asteya: Non-stealing
Brahmacharya: Celibacy, preserve the vital energy
Aparigraha: Non-possesive
How Do we apply Yamas in our Modern Life
Ahimsa means non-violence and is not just about physical harm but also mental harm. We need to be more mindful how our thoughts and words might hurt other people’s feeling.
Satya means truthfulness and not telling lies. However, white lies are often excusable since our initial intention is good. Also, the truth should be reflected in your spoken and unspoken words.
Asetya means non-stealing, which is applicable more than material things. There are lots of things one can steal. One can steal someone’s time if not being punctual. One can steal someone’s intellectual work by plagiarism and taking other people’s credit in the workplace. Do respect other people’s time and work.
Brahmacharya is often identified with celibacy. Preservation of vital energy through moderation in sexual activity is part of brahmacharya. This is a old-fashioned view of the practice. The main idea is to preserve our vital energy and stay focused. We need to develop awareness of which sense experiences are harmful or excessive.
Aparigraha means not possessive. Do not have emotional attachment with material stuff or a certain person so we do not form the habit of hoarding stuff. Stay alert with the lures from advertisement, since the sellers try to implant unconscious influence inside of us to feel happy about owning a certain products. A simple philosophy of applying aparigraha is to be happy with what you have without emotional attachment and do not be sad with what you do not have.