Yoga Articles

Beyond Truthfulness: practicing Satya on and off the mat

  `Yamas` (moral discipline) are observances recommended by yogic philosophy and teaching as part of the eight-limbed path of yoga, developed by Patanjali. Unlike a commandment that has to be strictly followed, the five yamas are established for enthusiasts to develop a mindful and healthy lifestyle. The second yama is

Moving Forward! Start a journey to a Yogi Lifestyle – 4 The Theory

Moving Forward! Start a journey to a Yogi Lifestyle – 4  The Theory Love the theory part, not so much that I like to read now, but so relax and easy that someone there talk and I listen, the science, the philosophy, the art, and the stories. I had already much

Philosophy – Yoga Sutra

A review of the Yoga Sutra If you have attended any yoga classes or courses, you have probably heard about the Yoga Sutras. I’m not so familiar with the text so her is a short review! Acording to Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati Yoga means union & sutra means thread: Yoga means union of the parts of ourselves,

Yoga Sutra Study – 4.17

4.17 Taduparaga apeksitvat cittasya vastu jnata ajnatam “An object remains known or unknown according to the conditioning or expectation of the consciousness.” In the book “Light on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali”, BKS Iyengar commented that when consciousness reflects on the object without condition, taint, or expectation, its real essence

Yoga Sutra Study – 4.15

4.15Vastusamye cittabhedat tayoh vibhaktah panthah “Due to the variance in the quality of mind-content, each person may view the same object differently, according to his own way of thinking.” Long time ago, there were a group of blind men. They wanted to learn what an elephant is like, so they

Yoga Sutra Study – 4.13

4.13 te vyakta suksmah gunatmanah These (states) have manifested or subtle constituent forces of nature. The forms of nature (prakrti) may be manifested (vyakta) or subtle (suksma). If an object can be perceived by the senses, we call it material or manifested. If an object cannot be perceived, it remains

Yoga Sutra Study – 4.10

4.10 Tasam anaditvam ca asisah nityatvat  In sutra 4.9, Patanjali mentions about subconscious imprints (samskara) and memory. This sutra continues to explain that these samskaras and memories have existed eternally, as the desire to live is eternal.  Desire is an earnest longing for attaining some object or goal. All living

Yoga Sutra Study – 4.7

4.7 Karma asukla akrsnam yoginah trividham itaresam  In this verse, Patanjali tells us the karma of the yogi is neither white nor black; but the karma of the others is threefold.  Law of Karma states that for every action performed, there is another reaction created, which in turn produces a

Yoga Sutra Study – 3.53

3.53 Ksana tatkramayoh samyamat vivekajam jnanam “By samyama on moment and on the continuous flow of moments, the yogi gains exalted knowledge, free from the limitations of time and space.” This is the last practice of samyama, which is discussed in the Vibhuti Pada. Ksana, or a moment, is defined

Yoga Sutra Study – 3.45

3.45 Sthula svarupa suksma anvaya arthavatva samyamat bhutajayah  “By samyama on the elements – their mass, forms, subtlety, conjunction and purposes, the yogi becomes Lord over them all.”  Objects in the universe exist at various levels, but they are all made from the five basic elements: earth (prthvi), water (ap),