Yoga Numerology: a Brief Explanation

For this blog, let’s explore a less popular affiliate of the yoga practice.  That is numerology, or the knowledge and occult significance of numbers. Numerology has various interpretations throughout different cultures, and the depth and allegiance to the interpretations. 

In my practice I can appreciate numerology in a way that I also appreciate tarot, or other practices that offer us perspective, feedback, and self reflection (or anticipation).  For me, these interpretations are not defining, but thought provoking in my self reflection. Yoga numerology explores the 10 yogic bodies (11th is mastery) and 7 chakras. If we think of those bodies like a musical instrument, we realise that they can fall out of tune, or balance, even without being touched.  Like an instrument, our environments and atmospheres affect our balance. Reflecting on this helps us start to learn how to keep ourselves in tune. 

Read on to learn  about your numerology!


Calculating your numbers: 

Your numerology code consists of 5 unique numbers. 

We’ll add digits of your birth dates to come up with the unique numbers, but will never condense the numbers 10 or 11 by adding them together. 11 will stay as an 11 and a 10 will be a 1+. Numbers higher than 11 are added together to give you a single digit to work with; for instance, 12 becomes 3 (1+2=3).

Let’s take may birthdate for example: 03/08/1989 (mm/dd/yyyy)

Karma Position (The month you were born… eg. 03) = 3

Soul Position (Day of birth… eg. 08) = 8

Gift (Last two digits of the year you were born… eg. 8 +9 = 17 >>>> 1 + 7 = 8) = 8

Destiny (The year of your birth… eg. 1 + 9 + 8 + 9 = 27 >>>> 2 + 7= 9) = 9

Path (The sum of adding all of the digits of your birth date… eg.  3 + 0 + 8 + 1 + 9 + 8 + 9 = 38 >>>> 3 + 8 = 11) = 11

As you read on, remember that each number can manifest a positive and negative quality.  These things are also fluid; how the qualities show up and at what times may depend on how you are managing, balancing, and cleansing  your 10 bodies and chakras. This is feedback for your own reflection. Yoga, meditation, pranayama all help to keep in balance and work through this.   Also keep in mind that what may come across confusing or negative is really just constructive feedback for yourself. 

Karma Number: How you relate to the external world and to relationships with others.  Opportunity to create harmony between your internal and external worlds

Soul Number: How you relate to yourself; your soul, your consciousness, the spiritual and creative essence in you.  If you are able to consciously connect with your soul self, you are more self loving and have less separation and alienation.

Gift Number: Reveals a positive quality you have been given in this lifetime. The body and chakra associated with this number indicate natural talents which can support you through challenges presented by your Soul and Karma numbers, as well as get you through times of stress and pressure.

Use it or lose it.  It’s important to strengthen your gifts as much as possible.

Destiny Number:  This number resonates with your deep personal history, uses your skills and many lifetimes of talents to support you through the challenges and weak areas in your chart. Similar to the use-it-or-lose-it philosophy mentioned before, if we are not using the talents we have mastered over lifetimes, they can show up as negative attributes of the body and chakra associated with the number in this position.   Use your relationship with this number to develop your inner mastery and use it as a platform for balance and personal strength.

Path Number: This number represents what to build in this lifetime in order to feel complete.  It behaves as a compass so you can serve and teach others how to do the same. When you have mastered this number you are thriving and doing what you are supposed to be doing!  Mastery of the body and chakra of this number means you are inspiring others and fulfilling your own path.