Whats your yoga type?

The final countdown!

We’re on the final week of the YTT Course. Feels kind of surreal when I look back on how far all of us have come. All the wonderful people I have met from various backgrounds uniting as one for the love of yoga. I don’t think I’m going to miss waking up at 7 every weekend (Lol) but I’m going to miss the teachers, friends and energy/vibes we share!

So, what’s next after this? I’m still not sure – but Im certain my journey doesn’t stop here. For starters, maybe figure out what the various styles of yoga there is to pursue and work on. While almost all yoga styles use the same physical asanas, there is an emphasis for the various style and its chosen based on what appeals to the practitioner.

As we take on this yoga journey, we will eventually identify what type of yoga is for us or figure what our yoga personality is to understand which style suits us best. There is just so many to choose from!

Here’s a summary of some common ones (that i know):

Style: Slower pace, Relaxing, meditative, restorative
Level: Beginner
Hatha yoga is the foundation for all yoga styles and refers to any practice that combines asana, pranayama, and meditation.

Vinyasa Flow
Style: Vigorous, Pretty active with a fast and continuous flow
Level: Various
Vinyasa incorporates a series of poses called sun salutations, in which each movement is matched to the breath.

These classes focus on breathwork and cultivates awareness when linking one movement to the next. These classes are good for those who want a workout but also want to explore some of the more traditional aspects of yoga, like pranayama and being present.

Style: Fast-Paced, Intense, Flowing style
Level: Intermediate – Advanced
There are 3 “series” – Primary series, Intermediate series, and Advanced series
Each series performs poses in unvarying sequence until you and your instructor feel as though you are ready to move on to the next series. This practice is very physically demanding because of the constant movement from one pose to the next. It can be great for the more seasoned practitioner, as it requires strength, endurance, and a commitment to practicing a few times a week.

Style: Balancing flexibility and strength through proper body alignment.
Level: Various
Studios where it’s taught typically have a lot of props — blankets, blocks, straps, etc. — to help people of all ages, flexibilities, and abilities find alignment that is perfect for their bodies.
The poses are generally held longer, but the support of props and attention to alignment make this a great practice for those overcoming injury.

Style: More spiritual practice, more chanting, meditation, and breathing
Level: Various
Kundalini is all about awakening your kundalini energy, or shakti, which is the primal energy thought to sit at the base of the spine.The emphasis in Kundalini is on the breath in conjunction with physical movement, with the purpose of freeing energy in the lower body and allowing it to move upwards through all the chakras.
All asana practices make use of controlling the breath, but in Kundalini the exploration of the effects of the breath on the postures is essential. Kundalini exercises are also called kriyas.

I think i like them all – oh no 🙂

Till next time!