Understanding our Body’s energy

Chakras are circular (or flower petal or triangular shaped) vortexes of energy lying across seven different points on our spinal column (referred to as sushumna). The seven chakras are connected to different glands and organs in the body and are responsible for the uniform distribution of “Chi” (also called “Qi” or Praana or life energy).

When there is a disruption in this life energy or a blockage in any one or more chakras, the individual may suffer from health or mental issues. Thus, the chakras form the energy ecosystem of every individual. A deficiency in this ecosystem (e.g. feeling less vital, energetic, or in a funk) can wreak havoc in different areas of life.

Learning about the 7 chakra points fascinated me because not only does this ‘practice’ date back to ancient Hindu times, other cultures started adopting parts of these teachings to their practice as well. Even TV shows like Avatar: The Last Airbender (A short clip was shown to us by Master Paulo) briefly touched on the 7 Chakra points. After learning about this, everywhere I look, there are many influences on ‘chakras teachings’.

I remembered once I had stomach problems and went to a Chinese TCM, the doctor at the clinic simply helped by forcefully rubbing my stomach in a clockwise direction. Now that I think back, wasn’t she rubbing my Solar Plexus Chakra? What’s more, problems associated with an imbalanced Solar Plexus Chakra are digestive issues (which is pretty common for me)! Knowing what I know now, there are small steps that I can take to try to balance my Solar Plexus Chakra and some of these steps don’t require a lot of effort. For example, drinking room temperature beverage, taking slow, long breaths.

For those that are not aware of our body’s 7 chakra points, I would definitely encourage anyone who is keen to read up more about it and find out about the different chakras and how it affects different areas of our lives. Sometimes, we might feel like we’re in a funk and have no control over our lives be it problems happening, family drama, illnesses but I do believe it’s because we’re doing things that we aren’t supposed to unknowingly which causes this imbalance.

A few years ago, I read a book on mindfulness and there was a chapter on ‘Signs from the Universe’ stating that the universe is always sending us signals and if the same issue keeps occurring it means we haven’t gotten the lesson that it’s trying to teach us. I digressed, but ultimately, the main point was the first step to balance is being aware of what’s causing the imbalance and taking steps to change/improve. Who knows, the smallest steps could be the start of a big change.

Each chakra is also associated with specific chakra colors and represents different things. Below is an excerpt taken from https://chopra.com/articles/learn-about-your-seven-chakras-and-how-to-keep-them-in-balance

First Chakra—Muladhara (Root)

Balance in the first chakra allows you to feel grounded and confident.

Second Chakra—Svadhisthana (Sacral or Creativity)

Balance in the second chakra allows you to feel comfortable in your own skin and accepting of your emotions. It also allows for a creative expression of self.

Third Chakra—Manipura (Solar Plexus)

Balance in the third chakra is indicated by high self-esteem, strong charisma, and confident decision making.

Fourth Chakra—Ahahata (Heart)

When energy flows freely, you will experience compassion, love, and acceptance.

Fifth Chakra—Vishuddha (Throat)

When the throat chakra is in balance, you feel authentic and are a confident conversationalist and good listener.

Sixth Chakra—Ajna (Third Eye)

Ajna means “beyond wisdom,” and in balance, you experience expanded imagination, clairvoyance, synchronicity, and intuition.

Seventh Chakra—Sahaswara (Crown)

In balance, this chakra maintains your self-awareness, wisdom, and connection to the inner compass that guides you to your highest self.

Here are some links you can check out to learn more: