The Seven Chakras

The Seven Chakras

Chakras are centres of energy that are distributed throughout the body, each on represented as a spinning ball or wheel which draws in energy from outside. Chakra is indeed a Sanskrit word meaning wheel. The seven main chakras are:

  1. Muladhara (base or root chakra represented by the ovaries/prostate)
  2. Swadhisthana (sacral chakra represented by the last bone in the spine, coccyx)
  3. Manipura (solar plexus chakra represented by the naval area)
  4. Anahata (heart chakra represented by the heart area)
  5. Vishuddha (throat chakra represented by the throat area)
  6. Ajna (brow or third eye chakra represented by the pineal gland or third eye)
  7. Sahasrara (crown chakra represented by the crown of the head or fontanel in the new born)

Each chakra is represented by a colour and symbol

Chakra Name Symbol Bodily Position
Muladhra   Ovaries/Prostate
Swadhisthana   Sacrum/coccyx
Manipura   Naval area
Anahata   Heart area
Vishuddha   Throat area
Ajna   Third eye/pineal gland
Sahasrara   Crown of the head/fontanel

There are many other charkras, each responsible for different energies within the body but these are the seven main chakras. The overall feature of the chakras is that they are energy centres along which flows energy within our body. They are located along a central nadi which runs alongside or inside the spine. Generally the chakras give rise to our life force and associated with our consciousness – perhaps making each of us what we are.