The four states of mind(consciousness)

The four states of mindconsciousness



Know your identity

Don’t Know your identity

Able to create ideas



Unable to create ideas




1. Jagrat — The waking, conscious state / awake, mostly Beta Waves.

Experience is bound by the five sense organs, mind, time and space (the physical world)


Can only experience what is within the laws of physics.


2. Swapna — The sleeping, subconscious state / dreaming, mostly Theta Waves.

Free roaming, not bound by the five senses, time and space but only the mind.


Can experience anything imaginable; Lucid Dreaming.

This is the state of mind where hypnotism happens, effects of any idea induced is intensified.


3. Sushupti — The sleeping, unconscious state / dreamless sleep, mostly Delta Waves.

There is no bound of any sorts as the mind is at rest. This is when the body gets into deep, ultra- healing state.


4. Turiya — The superconscious state / sleepless sleep.

A non-dualistic state of consciousness in which the consciousness of the experiencing subject becomes one with the experienced object.




5. Maya — The illusion of Maya obstructs us from enlightenment. This veil of illusion or ignorance keeps us “asleep” and ignorant of our true nature, inducing sense of separation and prevents us from approaching the fourth estate of Turiya and ultimately Samadhi.



6. Om (enunciated as AUM)


 a) The symbol AUM visually consists of a dot, one semicircle, and three curves.

b) The left bottom curve symbolizes the waking state, A.

c) The middle curve signifies the dream state, U.

d) The upper left curve denotes the state of deep sleep, M.

e) The dot signifies the fourth state of consciousness, Turiya.

f) The semi-circle at the top represents Maya.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *