Practice Yamas and cultivate a sense of peace

One of my realizations from this course was finding out that yoga is not only about asanas and meditation. There are the eight limbs of yoga which consist of Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi.
The beginning of Patanjali’s eight limbs of yoga lays the Yamas: the moral and ethical guide for the practicing yogi. Yamas include:
Ahimsa (non-violence)- the practice of non-harming, injuring or killing
Satya (truthfulness) – to live and speak our truth at all times
Asteya (non-stealing) – not taking what is not freely given
Brahmacharya (continence) – attained increase energy when we have control over our physical impulses of excess
Aparigraha (non-coveting) – possess only the necessary
Discussing further on Satya as it is more common in our everyday lives. There are 2 aspects of truthfulness: being true to yourself, and being true to others. Is truthfulness an outdated principle in modern times? Hopefully not, as it matters both to individuals and society as a whole.
One way we can practice Satya is to recognize the fears and negative emotions that will prompt you to twist from reality. Once your needs and desires are understood, you need not speak the truth separately, it will appear automatically. And of course, outwardly refrain from telling lies and speak with compassion.
The 5 Yamas should be practiced on all levels, at all times. Engaging in these practices is not an easy task, yet by doing so we are striving towards living a healthier, holier and more peaceful life.
Eunice Koh
200hrs YTT (July weekend)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *