Padmanasa Aka Lotus Pose


‘Who can do the lotus pose?’ Master Sree said. All that was in my head was hell no, my legs can’t twist like that. Then he said pointing at me, ‘You do it.’ And just like that, I learnt how to do padmanasa. Wasn’t too hard for me in fact because I realised that i sit in this position everyday. On the floor, on the chair, on the bed my legs are always bounded up. Mostly because I feel most comfortable like this or it may be because my parents used to make us sit on the floor and play. I’ve learned so much about myself and what my body can do during this course and I am honestly just so excited to do so much more. Let’s talk about the lotus pose.

The ultimate yoga pose, Padmanasa. This pose requires open hips and consistent practice. The hands and feet resemble the leaves of a lotus. Padma stands for lotus and asana means posture or seat. The lotus is is used as a symbol of growth towards perfection and enlightenment as it is rooted in the mud at the bottom of the pond, but rises and blooms above the water.

Step 1:
Sit in Dandasana. Hold the right ankle with your right hand and bring your right foot to your left hip crease. Be sure to bring the right knee as close to the left as possible, and press the right heel into the left hip crease.

Step 2:
Hold the left ankle and bring your left foot on top of your right hip crease. Soles of both feet should be facing to the ceiling.

Step 3:
Place your palms on top of your knee in chin mudra.

Benefits of the pose:

            • Opens up the hips.
            • Stretches the ankles and knees.
            • Calms the brain.
            • Increases awareness and attentiveness.
            • Keeps the spine straight.
            • Helps develop good posture.
            • Eases menstrual discomfort and sciatica.
            • Helps keeps joints and ligaments flexible.

Stretches to ease into the move:
Virasana – stretches your thighs and prepares your knees and ankles
Baddha Konasana – streches your hips, inner thighs, groins and knees
Uttanasana – calves, thighs and hips