My first lesson about How is Yoga?

Article 4


200 HR YOGA TEACHER TRANING Weekday (In Apr – May 2017 )


I started to study Yoga three years ago, since I borned my second baby when she ten months old. I can do some difficult poses and stretching movements, but I do it with my instinct, in order not do with the technique and know how is the muscles and skeletal movement in these poses.
When I came to the 200 Hour Teacher Traning Course, I could be entered into the door of  Yoga’s foundation formally. Masters and study documents helped me knowing so much interesting knowledges of Yoga. This is the first lesson in Yoga that I have learned – with the support of a nice friend.
Body.Mind.Soul- when there are more activities in the mind, the soul goes downward… 
Yoga Sutras (rule): google the history behind it.
196 versus 4 Chapters 
Verse 1.2 Yoga Chitta Vritta Nirodha – Fluctuations of the consciousness 
Ashtanga Yoga: act as guidelines on how to live a meaningful and purposeful life. 
‘Ashta’ meaning 8 
‘Anga’ meaning limb or branch
‘Krishnamarcharya’ – Indian yoga teacher: Known for The Father of Modern Yoga
His teachings was the principle “Teach what is appropriate for an individual” 
4 books: Yoga Makaranda, Yogaasanagalu, Yoga Rahasya, Yogavalli 
His students: 
Pattabhi Jois, B.K.S Iyengar
4 paths of Yoga: Karma, Bhakti, Raja, Jnana
In present, there are some of types of Yoga
  • Hatha Yoga – Hathan means force. The basics in these slower moving classes that require you to hold each pose for a few breaths 
  • Kundalini Yoga- letting go, the yoga of awareness. Performing Kriyas —repetitive physical exercises coupled with intense breath work — while also chanting, singing and meditating.
  • Iyengar – get nit-picky about precision and detail, as well as your body’s alignment in each pose.
  • Vinyasa – Get your flow on in this dynamic practice that links movement and breath together in a dance-like way.
  • Ashtanga – Consisting of six series of specifically sequenced yoga poses, you’ll flow and breathe through each pose to build internal heat
  • Bikram – Bikram consists of a specific series of 26 poses and two breathing exercises practiced in a room heated to approximately 105 degrees and 40 percent humidity, practice the same 90-minute sequence
  • Hot – Hot yoga is similar to Bikram in that it’s practiced in a heated room. But teachers aren’t constrained by the 26-pose Bikram sequence. While the heat will make you feel like you can move deeper into some poses compared to a non-heated class, it can be easy to overstretch, so don’t push beyond your capacity.
  • Yin – calm and balance your body and mind, poses are held for several minutes at a time.
  • Restorative – The mellow, slow-moving practice with longer holds gives your body a chance tap into your parasympathetic nervous system, allowing you to experience deeper relaxation. You’ll also use a variety of props including blankets, bolsters and yoga blocks to fully support your body in each pose.

Stages of Samadhi  (the 8 limbs) 

1st Limb: Yama – series of “right living” or ethical rules. The “don’t do these” rules. 
  1. Ahimsa: Non-violence, non-harming of other living beings. ‘Hisma’ is injury or harm, a-himsa is the opposite of this.
  2. Satya: truthfulness
  3. Asteya: non-stealing
  4. Brahmacharya: sexual restraint, non-lust, self-control
  5. Aparigraha “Aparr-grinha” : Non-possessiveness 
2nd Limb: Niyama – postive duties, recommended of “do these” rules. 
  1. Saucha: “So-cha” internal/external cleanliness 
  2. Santosha: To be happy with whatever we have. 
  3. Tapas: means “heat” Burning determination, internal fire, commitment. 
  4. Swadhyaya: “swad-ah-yaya” self study. Sva meaning self and Adhyaya meaning examination. 
  5. Ishwara pranidhana: “Ish-wara praandana” to surrender 
3rd Limb: Asana (posture)
Sthira (stable) Sukham (comfortable) Asanam 
“Steera”     “Sookum”
4th Limb: Pranayama “Pra-nar-yum”
Prana life force or energy that exists everywhere and flows through you. Measuring and directing the breath.
(plants, wood, stones can have prana) 
5th Limb: Pratyahara “Prat-e-ah-hara”
Sense withdrawal, should only be undertaken in meditation, it means training and mastering the mind and senses so they stop roaming aimlessly.
6th Limb: Dharana “Daar-na”
Concentration, holding focus. The mind thinks about one object and avoids other thoughts
7th Limb: Dhyana “De-yana”
8th Limb: Samadhi
Highest state of consciousness; coming into the same frequency with nature. 
This is my first lesson in Yoga, it helped me open my mind in Yoga. Thank you Masters and Tirisula Yoga Center.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *