Hormones – this word conjures up quite a few negative connotations to women and men alike. 

Most women find it difficult to control their emotions and eating habits when there is hormonal imbalance. Imbalanced hormones in the body could also affect the relationships you have with the people surrounding you. Hence, I feel that we could learn a thing or two about hormones and understand its functions so that our health will be in check.

What are hormones? 

Hormones are special chemical messengers in the body that are created by the endocrine glands. The endocrine glands in the endocrine system produce hormones that regulate metabolism, growth and development, tissues function, sexual function, sleep, mood and among others. 

What are the main hormonal glands in the endocrine system? 

The main hormonal glands are hypothalamus, pituitary, thyroid, parathyroid, pancreas, adrenal, thymus, pineal, ovaries (for women) and testes (for men). 

What are the types of hormones? 

We have many different hormones such as Luteinizing Hormone (LH), Follicle Stimulating Hormone (FSH), Thyroid Stimulating Hormone (TSH), melatonin, estrogen, progesterone, testosterone, growth hormone, prolactin, oxytocin, T3 and T4, cortisol, insulin, glucagon, to name a few. 

Knowing the endocrine system and the hormones could not prevent hormonal imbalance but at least, we could be aware of the physical signals and handle our bodies much better when the time comes. 

Here’s what you can do when your hormones are whackier than you: 

  • Lotus pose (Sanskrit term: Padmasana
  • Sitting forward bend (Sanskrit term: Paschimottanasana
  • Headstand (Sanskrit term: Sirsasana)
  • Shoulder stand (Sanskrit term: Sarvangasana)
  • Plough pose (Sanskrit term: Halasana
  • Cobra pose (Sanskrit term: Bhujangasana)
  • Camel pose (Sanskrit term: Ustrasana)
  • Rabbit pose (Sanskrit term: Sasangasana)
  • Kapalabati pranayama 



Celine (April – May 2017 TTC) 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *