Chakra FAQ

What is Chakra?

Chakra in Sanskrit means “wheel” (just like your Ardha Chakrasana (Half Wheel Pose)).  They are energy centres which connect to the vagus nerves – the main component of our body’s parasympathetic nervous system which practically connects everything.


How many chakras are there in our body?

There are 114 chakras in our body, but there are 7 significant chakras which run along the spine – from the base of the spine to the crown of the head.


What are the 7 significant chakras?

(From the root to the crown) Muladhara, Swadhistana, Manipura, Anahata, Vishuddha, Ajna, Sahasrara.


What is Muladhara Chakra?

(Also known as the Root Chakra)

Location:   Base of the spine (a.k.a. coccyx) (a.k.a. tailbone)

Element:    Earth

Meaning:   Physical identity, stability, grounding


Relates to the basic foundation of life, i.e. basics of survival: safety, food, shelter, comfort and belonging

If blocked:

(physical issues) Arthritis, constipation, bladder or colon problems

(emotional issues) Feeling insecure, stress, sluggish, not good enough or greed and never feel contented


What is Swadhistana Chakra?

(Also known as Sacral Chakra)

Location:  Below belly button, above the pubic bone

Element:   Water

Meaning:  Sexuality, pleasure, creativity

Objective: Relationship with others and freedom from guilt, creativity and joys of life

If blocked:

(physical issues) Urinary tract infections, lower back pain, impotency

(emotional issues) Sexually unsatisfied, involve in toxic relationship


What is Manipura Chakra?

(Also known as Solar Plexus Chakra)

Location:  Stomach area

Element:   Fire

Meaning:  Self-esteem, confident

Objective: Relationship with yourself, personal power, self-worth, freedom from shame

If blocked:

(physical issues) Digestive issues, such as stomach ulcers, heartburn, eating disorders, indigestion

(emotional issues) Feeling powerless or victimised or arrogant, decision making can feel out of control


What is Anahata Chakra?

(Also known as Heart Chakra)

Location:  Centre of the chest (remember chakras are on the spine)

Element:   Air

Meaning:  Love and compassion

Objective: Emotional zone and forgiveness

If blocked: 

(physical issues) Heart problems, asthma, weight issues

(emotional issues) Commitment issues, holding grudges


What is Vishuddha Chakra?

(Also known as the Throat Chakra)

Location:  Throat

Element:   Sound

Meaning:  Communication

Objective: Communication centre – self expression, speaking the truth, listening and being heard

If blocked:  

(physical issues) Voice and throat problems, problem affecting communication, such as gum, teeth and mouth

(emotional issues) Dominating conversations, gossiping, speaking without thinking, having trouble speaking your mind


What is Ajna Chakra?

(Also known as Third Eye Chakra)(Ajna means “beyond wisdom”)

Location:  Between the eyebrow

Element:   Light

Meaning:  Intuition, imagination

Objective: Sense of purpose in life, self-reflection

If blocked:

(physical issues) Headaches, issues with sight or concentration, hearing problems

(emotional issues) Mr./Ms. Know It All, struggle to find meaning of life


What is Sahasrara Chakra?

(Also known as Crown Chakra)

Location:  The very top of the head

Element:   Thought

Meaning:  Awareness, intelligence

Objective: Divine consciousness and enlightenment

If blocked:

(physical issues) Migraine and tensions headaches

(emotional issues) Stubborn, narrow-minded, skeptical


How to unblock Chakra?

Meditation is one of the best ways to unblock your chakras.  Mudras (hand gestures) and mantras (chants) are encouraged to be used during meditation to assist in concentration.