1 Day for 100% Sattvic Diet

Breakfast – Energy Sandwich

  • 2 slices of Wholemeal bread (Carbohydrate)
  • Butter (Fat)
  • Apple (Vitamin)
  • Milk (Mineral)
  • Small portion of Almond (Protein)

Lunch – Rainbow Salad

  • Steamed Potatoes (Carbohydrate)
  • Corn (Carbohydrate and Vitamin)
  • Chickpeas, Organic Chia Seed (Protein)
  • Tomatoes, Red Cabbage, Baby Spinach (Vitamin)
  • Dressing: Olive Oil (Fat)

Dinner – Burrito Bowl

  • Kale (Vitamin + Mineral)
  • Black Bean (Protein)
  • Quinoa (Carbohydrate)
  • Avocado (Fat)
  • Cherry tomatoes (Vitamin)
  • Yoghurt (Mineral)

To start, we can schedule and start to apply one day on Sattvic diet in a week, it could helping us increase our purity, strength, health and joy, and also in our Yoga practise. 🙂 

An Hour Yoga Class for Beginner

One of our learning objectives in YTT is plan the lesson plan for different level of students. It can be a lesson plan designed for ultra-beginner, beginner, intermediate, advance or a workshop.

Here is sharing of my lesson plan for beginner class.

  • Introduction (5 mins)

– Introduce yourself to the class, checking on any medical condition

– Sit in comfortable position and start the class with 3 Om chants

  • Breathing  (5 mins)

– Anuloma Viloma (Alternate nostril breathing)

  • Warm up (10 mins)

– Seated Stretch (Upward and Side)

– Paschimottanasana (Seated forward bend)

– Parivrtta Sukhasana (Seated Twist)

– Parsva Upavistha Konasana (Side Seated Wide Angle)

  • Asana (30 mins)

– Bharmanasana (Table-top – single leg, single arm extensions)

– Chakravakasana (Cat–Cow)

– Adho Mukha Shvanasana (Downward Facing Dog)

– Tadasana (Mountain Pose)

– Tiryaka Tadasana (Swaying Palm Tree)

– Vrikshasana (Tree pose)

– Padangustasana

– Adho Mukha Shvanasana (Downward Facing Dog)

– Balasana (Child pose)

– Virasana (Hero Pose) with modification

– Urstrasana (Camel pose) with modification  

  • Cool down / Recovery (5mins)

– Balasana (Child pose)

– Paschimottanasana – Seated forward bend (Counter pose)

– Ananda Balasana (Happy Baby pose)

  • Relaxing (5 mins)

– Lie in Savasana

  • Closing (5 mins)

Namaste 🙂 

TAPAS – Austerities transform impurities

“TAPAS” is the 3rd elements of NIYAMA in the eight limbs of Yoga.

What is TAPAS?

Tapas is can be mean cultivating a sense of self-discipline, passion and courage in order to burn away ‘impurities’ physically, mentally and emotionally but ‘discipline’ doesn’t strictly mean pushing ourselves harder in a physical sense.

In the more of an aspect of the inner wisdom that it encourages us to practise even when we don’t feel like it. For example, if we are still try our best to practise a pose which we are not confident at, or usually will avoid when find it too difficult or impossible. When you perform this, you didn’t aware that this is already a form of tapas.

“Don’t give up”

We shall not avoid that we are not confident at and shall learn to strong when facing challenging, no matter in life situations or facing new pose in yoga class. It can be trained by ourself and start from small and it will make significant difference eventually. For example, if you always late or rush for work in morning, you can set a new habit like wake up 5 minutes earlier to make it be a routine, eventually your body alarm will be wake up early. In yoga practise, we practise the pose that we weak at, we shall not give up when failed. We shall keep learn from it and work it, eventually we will find the strength and technique to do the pose. Don’t give up when we feel impossible and don’t push yourself so harder to make it accomplished in a day, we shall practice it consistency in a way of discipline.

Last but not least, we shall always be self-motivated and to set goal in our life, it can be a small goal/thing which it can move you towards it a bit by bit. It’s okay that first attempt is not a success, just keep continues trying and encourage yourself, keep in mind that “you will get there eventually”.  🙂 

What is Karma?

This is one of the theory lessons in my YTT’s journey. Since from young, we are always heard about the word of “Karma”. There always having said that when a people doing any good or bad and the karma will come just don’t know when it will come.  After attending the lesson, it provides me more insight on what is Karma and how it will apply in our lifetime. There are four main type of actions for Karma to be exist which are physical, mental, energy and emotional. The Karma can only been exist in the following condition: Intention, Action, Outcome, Consequence, Emotional, Content and Reaction.

I’m also been aware that  many impressions (Varsana) will form into one thought; many thought/ thots (Samskaras) will come into one action (Kriya, Karma)

We will experience and pass through the following three types of Karma in our lifetime:

  • Sanchita Karma: The accumulate of the past live; the total karma accumulated by a Jiva over previous lifetimes
    Jiva refers to the energy body that have physical structure/body
  • Prarabdha Karma: The portion of Sanchita Karma which will fructify in this lifetime
  • Agami Karma: The Karma created in this lifetime. Some Agami fructifies in this lifetime while the balance joins the Sanchita pools.

This is important to know that we are unable to make any changes/modification on the Sanchita Karma in this lifetime, however we are able to identify the patterns of the Sanchita Karma so that we can handle the Prarabdha Karma in more useful way to find out own capability and nature talent that you have when born for us to create the Agami Karma. 

Besides, from the research also know that the bad/evil karma which was done and it will not be able offset by good karmas that you did. You will deserve for the result from good karma as well as the result from the bad karma (if any) respectively.

“How shall we apply Agami Karma in our lifetime?” 

First, we shall think more before our action and words. In addition, we can start to form a new pattern in our lifetime like practise 10 minutes of Pranayama and 30 to 45 minutes of Asana on a daily basis. In addition, it will be great that we can also practise the dharana, eventually it will slowly change on the mental framework. For me, it just started on my yoga journey, by practising a little daily, hoping that I can be feel and sense the different in myself in near future. 🙂