The Eight Limbs of Yoga

Yoga Sutra, which is thought to have been written around 200 BCE. The book is a short one, containing only 195 terse verses, or Sutras. But in it,  Pantanjali has created a logical road map for using the techniques of yoga to achive the state of yoga, which is when the practitioner is no longer at the mercy of the endless spinning of the mind and instead experience a deep awareness of and identification with, a consciousness much greater than the individual ego.
Patanjali offers a clear path: eight steps or limbs to liberation.
1.- YAMAS: Restraints
Ahimsa: Nonharming
Satya: Truthfulness
Asteya: Nonstealing
Brahmacharya: Sexual moderation
Aparigraha: Nongrasping
Saucha: Purity
Santosha: Contentment
Tapas: Discipline
Svadhyaya: Self study
Ishvara pranidhana: Devotion.
3.- ASANAS: Posture
4.- PRANAYAMA: Breathwork.
5.- PRATYAHAR: Sense Withdrawal
6.- DHARANA: Concentration
7.- Dhyana: Meditation
8.- Samadhi: Union
If we successfully weave all of the eight limbs into our practice and lives, Pantajali teaches, we will be happier and will suffer less_but we will need all of them.
The practice of yoga is simple one of the best tools for helping us to live in the state of happiness and less suffering more frequently.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *